top of page

Security Council

High School

The United Nations Security Council is one of the United Nations' six major organs. It was founded on October 24, 1945, as part of the foundation of the United Nations and established to ensure world peace and security, as one of the major outcomes of the just concluded World War II. Granting them with the primary responsibility of the United Nations, addressing conflicts, deploying peace training missions and enforcing international law. This committee is formed by 15 members: five permanent (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and ten non-permanent (chosen by the General Assembly for a two-year term). The five permanent members that have the veto power, China, France, Rusia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, can block any resolution, in its attempts to maintain international peace and security. This has been criticized for giving these countries too much power and preventing the Security Council from acting in some situations. They have the jurisdictions to study any situation that may cause international friction or disagreement, and algo suggests ways to solve such situations. It can also have the authority to decide how to respond to threats to peace, breaches of the peace, or acts of aggression. Such strategies include diplomatic sanctions, economics restrictions, and even military involvement.

background web (2).png

Ma Antonia Carmona y Antonio Silva Berrío.

Guía de comité

bottom of page